Music & Sound

Review: Lanktoo Bluetooth 4.0 Transmitter

lankoo-receiver

I was sent this Bluetooth transmitter by Lanktoo for free for a review.

This transmitter comes in its box along with instructions, an audio cable, an audio adapter, and a usb charging cable. The instructions are in English and are easy to understand but are simple and give no information about charging times or anything Some extra information can be found on the outer packaging.

Charging this transmitter is easy but although I was told by the seller that the charge time is 1 and a half hours, the red light stayed on for a very long time, hours in fact that I pulled it out of the socket even though it didn’t say it was fully charged yet. Charging this transmitter again after using it led it to charging properly with the light turning off when charged.

Using this transmitter is easy. Now for those who may not know how a transmitter works or whether you need one, I’ll explain. If you have mp3 players or other devices that don’t have a Bluetooth function you can still attach a Bluetooth speaker or headphones to them. The transmitter basically sends a Bluetooth signal from your mp3 player, tv, etc to your speakers/headphones.

lanktoo2lanktoo1

The transmitter can plug into your devices using both the audio cable or the audio adapter which is how I chose to attach my mp3 player. To pair the speakers or headphones first make sure that they aren’t paired with any other devices in the room, such as your laptop (if they are then they will automatically pair with your laptop, etc before they get the chance to pair with this transmitter).
Once you have a ready unpaired speaker/headphones you simply press the button on the transmitter and at the same time press the on/pairing button on your speakers/headphones. The blue light on the transmitter was repeatedly flashing and then went out, and nothing happened. I had to press the transmitter’s button again and hold it until it flashed quickly. Then the headphones I was using paired instantly.
The transmitter is able to pair two speakers/headphones at once but I haven’t tried this feature.

The sound quality was very good from my mp3 player. It sounded no different from plugging in the headphones into the audio socket. The transmission range was good in my house too. I had no problems with the Bluetooth cutting out. However the time the transmitter lasted wasn’t as long as I had hoped. I don’t know if it was the mistaken charging at the beginning but the transmitter started giving a warning sooner than the 5 hours that is claimed on the box. However as I said this could have been because of some mistaken over charge at the beginning. This is why I gave it a 4 rather than 5 but overall a good product and perhaps taking the other reviews into account, maybe an isolated incident for me.

Rating: 4/5

Review published on amazon UK, click here

Leave a Reply

