Phones Gadgets Apps & Accessories

Review: Tonor Clip-on Microphone

tonor-clip-mic

I was sent this clip-on microphone by Tonor for  free for a review.

This microphone comes in a plastic re-sealable bag. It doesn’t come with any instructions , but none are needed. The microphone is a simple plug and play device. It has a 3.5mm connector which fits into any pc or smart phone however there are issues when using this with a pc.

Using this with an android smartphone works very well. I simply plugged it in and clipped the microphone onto my clothes. The clip is a bit stiff to open and has rough grooves but should hold well, it did for me. I tested my voice on the sound recorder I have on my phone. The microphone picked up my voice very well and very clearly, my voice came out crisp and easy to understand, although you have to talk at a decent volume or the voice comes out a bit muffled. Only if you hold the microphone up to your mouth can you speak with a quieter voice.
My voice came out well and could be heard above background noise, but again you’d have to talk with a middle range volume as a quieter voice just won’t work if the microphone is attached to the lapel (unless really close up to your mouth!).

tonor-clip-mic1

The microphone works on my android smart phone but it doesn’t work with my windows laptop. I’ve contacted the seller about this and been told that it works with computers that have a single jack and not two jacks. However when I tried to use this on my laptop that has one jack for both microphone and speakers it just didn’t work, so take note if you plan on buying this to use with a pc or laptop.

Overall I give this a 4 starts. The sound it picks up is good and for using with my smart phone it’s a good microphone, but the foam wind muff keeps falling off whenever I leave the microphone in the bag. Even picking it up once I accidently knocked the wind muff off and nearly lost it. It’s easy to slide back on but I didn’t expect it to be so easy to fall off. But overall, a decent microphone🙂.

Rating: 4/5

Review published on amazon UK, click here

Leave a Reply

